420 Fantasy

After I read the interview with Claire Boucher / Grimes (below) in which she mentions that she had a 4:20 Mariah Fantasy and that MC is her favourite singer, I couldn’t be skeptical any longer. And I mean about what? The Montreal native has just released a gay-impact video to the pop hit single Oblivion featuring her naturally high-pitched voice.

There is only one wish: In the last scene of the video, where Claire is wearing a hoodie and then turning around, facing the camera, wouldn’t it been cute if she wore a skull mask – as a reference to the Visions album cover?

SUCH FUN!

On a side note: What is happening to me? I’m listening to more and more Canadian music. First The Weeknd, now Grimes. What’s next? Bieber?

Claire Boucher: (…) Mariah Carey is my favorite singer because her voice sounds utterly groundless. It’s not even a human voice; it almost sounds mechanical.

Pitchfork: How did you first get into Mariah?

Claire Boucher: In 2007 or 2008, I started listening to R&B on this road trip with my dad because we couldn’t agree on anything else. I smoked weed and listened to “Fantasy” and felt something I’d never felt before [laughs]– yeah, that makes me sound so ignorant. But then I slowly started gravitating more toward female singers, because I was able to relate. In medieval Christian thought, it was assumed that the better you were as a singer, the purer your heart was. I don’t necessarily think that’s true, but Mariah Carey has the voice of someone who has never done evil. (source)

Author: produzentin

drag entity, pie hands & toptions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.